[jboss-user] [JBoss Tools Users] - Re: Where is a
do-not-reply at jboss.com
Mon Oct 19 11:56:20 EDT 2009
As for what "publish" does, some people run with the automatic publishing NOT enabled. This means when they make changes to their workspace, they do NOT publish the changes right away. These users love being in control of when the publish occurs, and prefer to have the button there to do it.
What the "publish" button does is initiate an incremental publish. If you already have automatic publishing turned on, then clicking the publish button likely won't do anything because by the time you click it, an automatic publish has probably already happened and the workspace is already in sync with the publish folder.
But for users who don't have automatic publishing turned on, clicking publish initiates this incremental change. So if you change 10 files with auto-publish turned off, you'll see nothing changes in your deploy folder, but the "resynchronize" is shown in the view, showing you they are not in sync right then.
Then you click publish, and those 10 files are published =]
View the original post : http://www.jboss.org/index.html?module=bb&op=viewtopic&p=4261098#4261098
Reply to the post : http://www.jboss.org/index.html?module=bb&op=posting&mode=reply&p=4261098
More information about the jboss-user